Press Release

EC Starts Issuing Voter Location Slips

The Electoral Commission will issue Voter Location Slips to voters across the country to enable them conveniently locate their respective polling stations on polling day. The Voter Location Slips (VLS) will be issued for a period of ten (10) days, from Sunday 3rd to Tuesday 12th January 2021 at each Parish/Ward across the country.

Thursday, December 31, 2020

EC Suspends Campaign Meetings in Specified Districts

The Electoral Commission has suspended campaign meetings of all categories of elections for the 2020/2021 General Elections in specified districts/cities. Guided by Section 12 (1)(h) of the Electoral Commission Act; Section 21 (1) and (2) of the Presidential Elections Act, 2005; Section 20(1) of the Parliamentary Elections Act, 2005; and Section 172 of the Local Governments Act, campaign meetings for all elective offices are suspended with immediate effect, in the Districts/Cities of Jinja (Jinja City inclusive), Kabale, Kalungu, Masaka (Masaka City inclusive), Tororo, Kampala, Luwero, Waki

Saturday, December 26, 2020

EC Starts Packing Polling Materials for General Elections 2021

The Electoral Commission has started the packing of ballot papers and Declaration of Results Forms for Presidential and Parliamentary Elections, whose polling shall take place on 14th January 2021. The packing process is expected to take a period of seven days, after which the Commission will embark on the second round of packing materials for District/City Local Government Councils Elections.

Saturday, December 26, 2020

Nomination of Candidates for Election of MP Representing Special Interest Groups

The Electoral Commission has appointed Tuesday 22nd and Wednesday 23rd December 2020 as the dates for nomination of candidates for election of Member of Parliament representing Workers, Youths, Persons with Disabilities and Older Persons. The nominations shall be conducted at the Electoral Commission Headquarters, Plot 55 Jinja Road, Kampala, beginning at 9:00am and ending at 5:00pm on each of the appointed dates.

Friday, December 18, 2020

EC Sets Dates for Nominations in Electoral Areas where Candidates Have Died

In accordance with Section 26 of the Parliamentary Elections Act, the Electoral Commission has appointed Tuesday 22nd and Wednesday 23rd December 2020 as dates for conducting fresh nomination in the electoral areas where death occurred of a nominated candidate.  

Friday, December 18, 2020

Statement on the Arrest of Candidate Kyagulanyi Robert Ssentamu

The Electoral Commission has taken note of the arrest of Presidential Candidate Kyagulanyi Robert Ssentamu of the National Unity Platform (NUP) Party, allegedly for violating the Guidelines issued regarding the conduct of Presidential Campaign Meetings.

The Commission has also noted media statements indicating that some Presidential Candidates have suspended their campaign programmes as a result of the above arrest. We wish to advise any such Candidates to officially address the changes in their respective campaign programmes to the Electoral Commission.

Thursday, November 19, 2020

Observations on the Conduct of Candidates During Campaigns for 2021 General Elections

Candidates’ campaign meetings for Presidential, Parliamentary and Local Government Councils Elections commenced on Monday 9th November 2021, across the country.

The Electoral Commission wishes to appreciate candidates who have organised and conducted public meetings in accordance with the Guidelines and Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) for conducting campaigns in a COVID-19 environment.

Wednesday, November 11, 2020

Appointment of Polling Date for Presidential Elections 2021

Following the conclusion of the above nomination exercise, the Electoral Commission has appointed the period from 9th November 2020 until 12th January 2020 for the purpose of conducting candidates’ campaign meetings for Presidential Elections, 2021. The Electoral Commission has further appointed 14th January 2020 as the polling date for Presidential Elections 2021.


Wednesday, November 4, 2020

Preparations for Nomination of Candidates for Presidential Elections 2021

The Electoral Commission appointed Monday 2nd and Tuesday 3rd November 2020 as the dates for nomination of candidates for Presidential Elections, 2021. The nomination exercise will be conducted at Kyambogo University Sports Grounds, starting at 9:00am and ending at 5pm on each of the appointed dates. 

Thursday, October 29, 2020

Campaign and Polling Dates for 2021 General Elections

The Electoral Commission conducted the nomination of candidates for Local Government Councils and Parliamentary Elections, from 21st September to 5th October and on 15th and 16th October 2021, respectively. The nomination exercise attracted a high number of aspirants who include party-sponsored candidates and independents. The Commission is compiling the details of all nominated candidates and will publish the results in due course.

Thursday, October 22, 2020