Publishing of the Final Results for Presidential Elections 2021

The Electoral Commission conducted Presidential Elections on Thursday 14th January 2021. By law, the results for Presidential Elections must be declared within 48 hours from the closure of polls. The polls closed at 4:00pm on Thursday 14th January and the forty-eight hours expired at 4:00pm on Saturday 16th January 2021.

The provisional results of the Presidential Elections were announced cumulatively in the order in which they were being received, leading to a declaration by the Electoral Commission, based on the total number of thirty-three thousand four hundred and sixty-one (33,461) polling stations, which had been duly received and verified before the expiry of the 48 hours.

These stations account for 96.47% of the total number of polling stations (34,684) across the country.

The declaration met the legal requirements of Section 57(4) of the Presidential Elections Act, which provides that a candidate shall be declared as President if he/she has obtained more than fifty percent (50%) of the valid votes cast at the election.

The candidate who was declared as winner obtained more than 50% of the total votes cast at the election.

The Commission considered the fact that the difference in votes obtained by the leading candidate and first runner up would not have a significant effect on the final results even if all the voters from the remaining one thousand two hundred and twenty-three (1,223) polling stations, totaling to six hundred ninety-four thousand two hundred and twenty-nine (694,229) voters were added to the first runner up.

The Electoral Commission has since received and tallied the results of the remaining polling stations.

Accordingly, the final summary of Presidential Elections Results is as follows:

Registered Voters:


Total No. of Polling Stations:


Total No. of Polling Stations Received:

34,601 (99.76% of total polling stations)



 Candidates' Names




Amuriat Oboi Patrick



of valid votes cast for candidates

Kabuleeta Kiiza Joseph




Kalembe Nancy Linda




Katumba John




Kyagulanyi Robert Sentamu




Mao Norbert




Mayambala Willy




Mugisha Muntu Gregg




Mwesigye Fred




Tumukunde Henry Kakurugu




Yoweri Museveni Tibuhaburwa Kaguta





Valid Votes




Invalid Votes



of Total Votes Cast

Total Votes



of Registered Voters

Spoilt Votes




The Commission wishes to inform Ugandans that the results of eighty-three (83) polling stations, with a total number of fifty-four thousand three hundred and fifty-seven (54,357) registered voters, were not included in the final tally due to various reasons that include:

  1. Allegations of ballot stuffing, that gave rise to violence and destruction of the voting materials at the polling station;
  2. Grabbing of polling materials during the polling process;
  3. Grabbing of polling materials during the counting process, including envelopes containing elections results forms;
  4. Declaration of Results (DR) Forms missing in the results envelopes and the metallic black box;
  5. Total votes cast exceeded the number of registered voters for the polling stations;
  6. Acts of hooliganism and violence during the counting, leading to grabbing of polling materials by unknown persons;

A copy of the summary of the Presidential Elections Results, the City/District summary tally sheet, and a soft copy of the tally sheet of results per Polling Station, has been provided to all Presidential Candidates.

The above copies have also been uploaded on the Electoral Commission website:, and will be published in the Uganda Gazette.

The Electoral Commission has further finalized ascertaining and compiling the results of Parliamentary Elections and will publish the results in the Gazette in accordance with the Law.

The Electoral Commission wishes to congratulate the people of Uganda on exercising their constitutional rights and participating in the Presidential and Parliamentary Elections held on 14th January 2021, and the Local Government Councils elections held to date. 


Justice Byabakama Mugenyi Simon

Chairperson, Electoral Commission

Thursday, January 28, 2021