Telephone: +256-41-337500/337508-11 Fax: +256-31-262207/41-337595/6 E-mail: secretary@ec.or.ug

Ref: Adm72/01



Plot 55 Jinja Road P. O. Box 22678 Kampala, Uganda Website: www.ec.or.ug

Date: 13th September 2017

<u>Press Statement on Final Preparations for By-election of District Woman</u> <u>Member of Parliament for Iganga</u>

A. Introduction

Dear esteemed partners, members of the press, it is our privilege and pleasure to welcome you to this press briefing, at Iganga District Council Hall.

Today, the Commission will update you on the final preparations for the forthcoming byelection of District Woman Member of Parliament for Iganga District.

B. Update of the National Voters' Register and Issuance of Voter Location Slips (VLS)

In preparation for the by-elections, the Electoral Commission conducted the update of the National Voters' Register for Iganga District, for a period from $7^{\text{th}} - 11^{\text{th}}$ August 2017 and thereafter, a display of the Register at all polling stations in the district for a period of ten (10) days, from Monday 21^{st} to Wednesday 30^{th} August 2017.

The Electoral Commission has completed cleaning the National Voters' Register for Iganga District, which bears the names of all the 254,450 (two hundred fifty four thousand four hundred and fifty) registered voters, arranged alphabetically by surname, at each of the three hundred eighty two (382) polling stations in Iganga District.

The Commission has issued the Register to participating candidates to enable them (candidates), through their official agents, ensure that only eligible persons are allowed to vote during the by-election and only at the polling station where they are registered as voters.

Meanwhile the Commission has also issued temporary Voter Location Slips (VLS) to voters. Newly registered voters will conveniently locate their respective polling station on polling day by referring to their VLS.

This issuance exercise commenced on Monday 11th September and will be concluded today, Wednesday 13th September 2017, at issuing centers in each parish in Iganga District.

C. Nominations and Campaigns

No.	Candidate's Name	Political Party/Organisation & Symbol
1.	Asinde Brenda Suubi	National Resistance Movement (NRM)
2.	Babirye Asha	Independent (Clock)
3.	Kakerewe Aziza	Independent (Radio)
4.	Kwagala Oliver	Independent (Ball)
5.	Nantale Marriam	Forum for Democratic Change (FDC)

The following candidates were successfully nominated to contest in the by-elections:

Campaigns commenced on Monday 21st August 2017 and will be concluded today, Tuesday 12th September 2017.

The campaigns have largely been peaceful and candidates have complied with the harmonised programme. The Commission wishes to commend the candidates, their agents and supporters, and all other key stakeholders, including security agencies for ensuring a peaceful campaign.

D. Dispatch of polling materials

The polling kits for Iganga District will be dispatched tomorrow, Wednesday 13th September 2017, from the EC Warehouse in Banda, Jinja Road, starting at 5:00am. The Commission welcomes members of the press and official agents of the participating Political Parties/Independent candidates to come and witness the activity.

The Commission has made adequate administrative, logistical and security arrangements to ensure that all polling stations have their materials, and open on time for polling.

Designated candidate's agents are advised to report to the Sub County offices before 5:00am on the morning of 14th September, 2017 and observe the dispatch of the polling kits to the respective polling stations.

Polling shall take place on Thursday 14th September 2017.

Voting shall be by universal adult suffrage, and shall take place at all the three hundred eighty two (382) polling stations in the District, beginning at 7:00am and ending at 4:00pm.

Thereafter, counting of votes and declaration of results shall take place.

The Electoral Commission has gazetted Iganga District Council Hall as the venue for tallying and declaration of election results.

E. Election Observers and Candidates' Agents

Section 16 (1a) of the Electoral Commission Act, provides for accreditation of representatives of political parties, civil society organisations and any other duly registered institution, to observe electoral activities.

Accordingly, the Commission has accredited observers from the following parties/organizations for purposes of this by-election:

- i. National Resistance Movement (NRM);
- ii. Forum for Democratic Change (FDC);
- iii. Independent Candidates; and.
- iv. Civil Society Organisations.

All accredited observers will be required to strictly observe the laws and guidelines for election observation. Each accredited Observer should carry his/her accreditation tag all the time while in the District

Participating Political Parties have already been advised to deploy not more than five (5) observers per Sub- County and at the Tally centre. Such accredited observers will be required to limit their activity to the designated areas, and Police has been notified to enforce this regulation.

Any individual found to be engaging in election related activities, that is, doing the duties of an observer or agent without due accreditation, will be prosecuted in accordance with the Law.

Media personnel will be required to present valid identification in order to access polling stations and the District Tally centre. Access to the Tally Centre is by accredited personnel only

The Commission would like to emphasise the following:

- a. In order to avoid congestion at polling stations, each political party/candidate is advised to appoint a maximum of two (2) agents per polling station, who shall be required to present appointment letters from the respective political parties/Independent candidates to the Presiding Officer, before they are allowed into the polling station;
- b. These agents should strictly represent the interests of their party/independent candidates at the polling station, and should not interfere with the polling process;
- c. Similarly, accredited observers are not supposed to interfere with the polling process, but should draw any concern to the attention of election supervisors or the Query/Complaints Desk, which the Commission has set up to handle such matters.

d. The Commission will provide all those accredited with identification tags for the purpose of observing the respective electoral activity.

F. Establishment of Query/Complaints Desk

The Electoral Commission has established a Query/Complaints Desk at the Tally Centre, which will be at Iganga District Council Hall.

The Complaints/Query Desk will have toll free lines to enable members of the public raise any issue related to the polling day activities for expeditious handling by the Commission:

No.	Telephone Number	Network
1.	0800110022	UTL
2.	0800300121	Airtel
3.	0800300122	Airtel
4.	0800300123	Airtel
5.	0393280492	MTN (Not Toll-free)

All the stakeholders are urged to make use of this facility on polling day from 7:00am to 4:00pm.

G. Security during the Polls

The Electoral Commission wishes to assure the voters in Iganga District that adequate security arrangements have been made by the Uganda Police Force, to ensure that the byelections take place in a peaceful environment.

All stakeholders are urged to be law abiding before, during and after the polling process.

Persons with complaints are urged to report to the Electoral Commission Query/Complaints Desk or the Police so that their issues or concerns are addressed.

H. Conclusion

The Electoral Commission calls upon all stakeholders in Iganga District to participate in the above exercise in accordance with the Law and the polling guidelines.

Justice Byabakama Mugenyi Simon Chairperson, Electoral Commission