THE REPUBLIC OF UGANDA

THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

Telephone: +256-41-337500/337508-11 Fax: +256-31-262207/41-337595/6

E-mail: secretary@ec.or.ug

Ref: Adm72/01



Plot 55 Jinja Road

P. O. Box 22678 Kampala, Uganda

Website: www.ec.or.ug

Date: 30th April 2018

Press Release

Programme for Elections in New Municipalities, Town Councils and Sub Counties

The Electoral Commission has approved the programme for elections in new Municipalities, Town Councils and Sub Counties that took effect on 1^{st} July 2016 and 1^{st} July 2017.

No	Activities	Period
1.	Update of the Voters' Register in new Municipalities, Town	26 th -30 th April
	Councils and Sub Counties	2018
2.	Cut-off date for registration of voters and transfer of voting location in the	30 th April 2018
	above electoral areas	
3.	Update of the Voters' Register in additional Town Councils and	3 rd -7 th May 2018
	Sub Counties	ul-
4.	Cut-off date for registration of voters and transfer of voting location in the	7 th May 2018
	above (additional) electoral areas	th th
5.	Recruitment of officials to conduct Display of the Voters' Register	9 th -10 th May 2018
6.	Display of lists of recruited Display officials at the Office of the Returning	11 th -16 th May 2018
	Officer, Municipal Division and Sub County Headquarters	
7.	Training of Display Officers, Voter Location Slips (VLS) Issuance Officials,	19 th -20 th May 2018
	Supervisors and issuance of appointment letters	,
8.	Display of National Voters' Register at Polling Stations in each	21 st May - 11 th
	electoral area & Issuance of Voter Location Slips (VLS)	June 2018
9.	Display of Parish Tribunal Recommendations for deletion from or inclusion	13 th – 22 nd June
	on the Voters' Register at the Parish/Ward Headquarters	2018
10.	Nomination of Parliamentary candidates at District Headquarter	4 th -5 th June2018
11.	Nomination of Local Council candidates at District & County H/Q	4 th -6 th June 2018
12.	Inspection of candidates' nomination papers and lodging of complaints	4 th – 11 th June 2018
13.	Returning Officer's Meeting with candidates to harmonize campaign	7 th June 2018
	programmes and formation of Liaison Committees	
14.	Campaigns for Member of Parliament & Lower Local Government	8 th June-16 th July
15.	Recruitment of polling day officials (to include written interview)	11 th -12 th July 2018
16.	Production and issuance of accreditation tags to Political Parties and	8 th June–16 th July
	Organisations and accredited observers	,
	Polling and tallying of results for Councillors representing Special	13 th July 2018
17.	Interest Groups (Youths, Persons with Disabilities and Older	
	Persons) at Municipality and Sub County, Town Council and	•
	Municipal Division levels	
18.	Display of names of polling day officials for inspection at Office of	14 th -25 th June 2018
	Returning Officer, Municipal Division and Sub County Headquarters	

19.	Training at Sub County, of Polling day officials, BVVK officials, Tally Clerks, Candidates' agents and issuance of appointment letters	14 th -15 th July 2018
20.	Polling and Tallying of results for elections in new Sub Counties	
	Town Councils and Municipal Divisions:	
	a) District Directly-elected Councillor	17 th July 2018
	b) District Women Councillor	
	c) Sub County/Town/Municipal Division Chairperson	
	d) Sub County/Town/Municipal Div. Directly-elected Councillor	
	e) Sub County/Town/Municipal Division Women Councillor	
21.	Polling and Tallying of results for elections in new Municipalities:	
	a) Member of Parliament	
	b) District Directly-elected Councillor	19 th July 2018
	c) District Women Councillor	
	d) Municipality Chairpersons and Councillors	

Appeal

The Electoral Commission calls on all stakeholders in the new Municipalities, Town Councils and Sub Counties to participate in the above activities in accordance with the guidelines for the elections.

Justice Byabakama Mugenyi Simon

Chairperson, Electoral Commission