# THE REPUBLIC OF UGANDA THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

 Telephone:
 +256-41-337500/337508-11

 Fax:
 +256-31-262207/41-337595/6

 E-mail:
 secretary@ec.or.ug

Ref: Adm72/01

ELECTOR ELECTOR ELECTOR ELECTOR

Plot 55 Jinja Road P. O. Box 22678 Kampala, Uganda Website: www.ec.or.ug

Date: 25th January 2021

### **Press Release**

# Elections of Councillors for Special Interest Groups (SIGs) to City/District Local Government Councils and Kampala Capital City Authority

The Electoral Commission appointed <u>Wednesday 27<sup>th</sup> January 2021</u>, as the date for elections of Councillors representing Persons with Disabilities (PWDs), Older Persons, Workers and Youth to City/District Local Government Councils and Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA).

# Please note that for each City/District Local Government Council/KCCA, there shall be:

- 1. Two (2) PWDs Councillors, one of whom shall be a female, to represent the Persons with Disabilities in the City/District Local Government Council and KCCA;
- 2. Two (2) Older Persons Councillors, one of whom shall be a female, to represent the Older Persons in the City/District Local Government Council and KCCA;
- 3. Two (2) Workers Councillors, one of whom shall be a female, to represent the Workers in the City/District Local Government Council and KCCA; and,
- 4. Two (2) Youth Councillors, one of whom shall be a female, to represent the Youth in the City/District Local Government Council and KCCA;

## Mode of election

Voting shall be by secret ballot using the Electoral College for each of the respective Special Interest Groups above:

- 1. The Youth Councillors for the City/District/KCCA shall be elected by an Electoral College composed of the following:
  - a. Members of City/District/KCCA Youth Executive Committee;
  - b. Members of Sub County/Town/Municipal Division Youth Executive Committee;
  - c. Members of Parish/Ward Youth Executive Committee;
  - d. One (1) Youth with Disabilities (PWD) of every Sub County/Town/Municipal Division or City Division;
  - e. Two (2) Students delegates from each Sub County/Town/Municipal Division or City Division.
- 2. The PWDs Councillors for the City/District/KCCA shall be elected by an Electoral College composed of the members of the Sub County/Town/Municipal Division or City Division PWDs Executive Committees;

- 3. The Older Persons Councillors for the City/District/KCCA shall be elected by an Electoral College composed of members of the Sub County/Town/Municipal Division or City Division Older Persons Executive Committees;
- 4. The Workers Councillors for the City/District/KCCA shall be elected by an Electoral College composed of the following delegates (members):
  - a. Ten (10) delegates who were elected by the non-unionised workers in the City/District/KCCA; and,
  - b. Twenty (20) delegates from each of the registered trade/labour unions within the respective City/District and KCCA;

### **Nominated Candidates**

Please note that candidates for these elections were nominated during the exercise of nomination of candidates for Local Government Councils Elections, held in September-October 2020, and in December 2020, in the case of Workers.

#### Venue and Time for Polling

Members of the respective electoral colleges will assemble at the respective City/District Electoral Commission offices or City/District Headquarters, as publicized, to participate in the elections.

No person shall be allowed to vote if she/he is not a member of the respective Electoral College.

Polling shall start at 7:00am in the morning and end at 4:00pm in the evening.

Votes cast at every polling station shall be counted at the polling station immediately after the Presiding Officer declares polling closed.

Each Candidate may appoint not more than two agents to oversee the conduct of polling and vote counting.

All persons participating in the elections shall be required to comply with guidelines issued by the Electoral Commission in accordance with the Government of Uganda and Ministry of Health measures against the spread of COVID-19.

This includes observing social distancing, hand washing, and wearing of masks.

Amente yaus

Hajjat Aisha Lubega Basajjanaku Deputy Chairperson/Electoral Commission