THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

Telephone: +256-41-337500/337508-11 Fax: +256-31-262207/41-337595/6 E-mail: secretary@ec.or.ug

Ref: Adm72/01



Plot 55 Jinja Road P. O. Box 22678 Kampala, Uganda Website: www.ec.or.ug

Date: 2nd August 2017

Press Release

By-election of District Woman Representative to Parliament for Kaabong District

The Electoral Commission has approved the programme for the by-election of District Woman Representative to Parliament for Kaabong District as follows:

No	Activities	Period
1.	Update of the National Voters' Register	4 th - 7 th August 2017
2.	Cut-off date for registration of voters & transfer of voting location in Kaabong District	7 th August 2017
3.	Recruitment of officials to conduct Display of the Voters' Register	9 th August, 2017
4.	Display of lists of recruited Display officials at the Office of the District Returning Officer and sub county headquarters	9 th - 14 th August 2017
5.	Consultative Meeting with stakeholders in Kaabong	4 th August 2017
6.	Training of Display Officers, VLS Officials, Supervisors and issuance of appointment letters	12 th - 13 th August 2017
7.	Display of Voter's Register at Polling Stations in Kaabong	14 th - 18 th August 2017
8.	Display of Parish Tribunal Recommendations for deletion from or inclusion on the Voters' Register at the parish headquarters	19 th - 21 st August 2017
9.	Nomination of candidates District Headquarters	7 th - 8 th August 2017
10.	Period for inspection of candidates' nomination papers and lodging of complaints	7 th - 12 th August, 2017
11.	Returning Officer's Meeting with candidates to harmonize campaign programs and formation of Liaison Committees	9 th August, 2017
12.	Campaigns	10 th - 25 th August 2017
13.	Recruitment of polling day officials (includes written interview)	9 th - 10 th August 2017
14.	Production and issuance of accreditation tags to Political Parties and Organizations and accredited observers	10 th - 22 nd August 2017
15.	Display of names of polling day officials for inspection at Office of the Returning Officer and Sub-county Headquarters	10 th - 21 st August 2017
16.	Issuance of Voter Location Slips (VLS) by Parish Supervisors	25 th August 2017
17.	Training at Sub county Headquarters of Polling day officials, Tally Clerks, Candidates' agents and issuance of appointment letters	25 th - 26 th August 2017
18.	Polling Day and Tallying of results	28 th August 2017

The Electoral Commission calls upon all stakeholders in Kaabong District to participate in the above activities in accordance with the guidelines for this by-election.

Justice Byabakama Mugenyi Simon Chairperson, Electoral Commission