THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

Telephone: +256-41-337500/337508-11 Fax: +256-31-262207/41-337595/6 E-mail: secretary@ec.or.ug

Ref: Adm72/01



Plot 55 Jinja Road P. O. Box 22678 Kampala, Uganda Website: www.ec.or.ug

Date: 2nd August 2017

Press Release

By-election for District Woman Representative to Parliament for Iganga District

The Electoral Commission has approved the programme for the by-election of District Woman Representative to Parliament for Iganga District as follows:

No	Activities	Period
1.	Update of the National Voters' Register	7 th - 11 th August 2017
2.	Cut-off date for registration of voters and transfer of voting location in Iganga District	11 th August, 2017
3.	Recruitment of officials to conduct Display of the Voters' Register	4 th - 5 th August, 2017
4.	Display of lists of recruited Display officials at the Office of the District Returning Officer and sub county headquarters	8 th - 13 th – August 2017
5.	Consultative Meeting with stakeholders in Iganga	7 th August, 2017
6.	Training of Display Officers, VLS Officials, Supervisors and issuance of appointment letters	19 th - 20 th August 2017
7.	Display of Voter's Register at Polling Stations in Iganga	21 st - 30 th August 2017
8.	Display of Parish Tribunal Recommendations for deletion from or inclusion on the Voters' Register at the parish headquarters	1 st - 6 th September 2017
9.	Nomination of candidates at the District Headquarters	16 th - 17 th August 2017
10.	Period for inspection of candidates' nomination papers and lodging of complaints	16 th - 21 st August 2017
11.	Returning Officer's Meeting with candidates to harmonize campaign programs and formation of Liaison Committees	18 th August 2017
12.	Campaigns	21 st Aug -12 th Sept 2017
13.	Recruitment of polling day officials (includes written interview)	23 rd - 24 th August 2017
14.	Production and issuance of accreditation tags to Political Parties and Organizations and accredited observers	18 th August - 10 th September, 2017
15.	Display of names of polling day officials for inspection at Office of the District Returning Officer and Sub-county Headquarters	24 th August - 4 th September, 2017
16.	Issuance of Voter Location Slips (VLS) by Parish Supervisors	11 th -13 th September 2017
17.	Training of Polling day officials, Tally Clerks, Candidates' agents and issuance of appointment letters	11 th - 12 th September 2017
18.	Polling Day and Tallying of results	14 th September 2017

The Electoral Commission calls upon all stakeholders in Iganga District to participate in the above activities in accordance with the guidelines for the by-election.

Justice Byabakama Mugenyi Simon Chairperson, Electoral Commission