## THE REPUBLIC OF UGANDA THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

 Telephone:
 +256-41-337500/337508-11

 Fax:
 +256-31-262207/41-337595/6

 E-mail:
 secretary@ec.or.ug



Plot 55 Jinja Road P. O. Box 22678 Kampala, Uganda Website: www.ec.or.ug

Date: 13<sup>th</sup> October 2020

## **Press Release**

## **Revision of Polling Date for District/City Youth Committees, 2020**

The Electoral Commission informs the general public and particularly members of Youths electoral college, that the elections of District and City Youth Committees, which were scheduled to be conducted on Friday 16<sup>th</sup> October 2020, have been postponed to Monday 19<sup>th</sup> October 2020.

The postponement has been made to enable smooth conduct of nomination of candidates for Parliamentary Elections, which will be conducted on 15<sup>th</sup> and 16<sup>th</sup> October 2020, at the respective District/City Headquarters.

The elections shall be by secret ballot, using the members of the respective District/City Youths Electoral College.

## The District/City, the Electoral College shall comprise:

- 1. The Chairperson, the Secretary for Women Affairs, and the Secretary for Finance of the respective Sub-County/Town/Division or Municipality Youth Executive Committees within the District/City;
- 2. One (1) Person with Disabilities (PWDs) nominated by organisations of PWDs in the District/City; and,
- 3. Two (2) students, one of whom shall be female, nominated by the Uganda National Students Association (UNSA) in the District/City.



Justice Byabakama Mugenyi Simon Chairperson, Electoral Commission