## THE REPUBLIC OF UGANDA THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

 Telephone:
 +256-41-337500/337508-11

 Fax:
 +256-31-262207/41-337595/6

 E-mail:
 secretary@ec.or.ug

Ref: Adm72/01



Plot 55 Jinja Road P. O. Box 22678 Kampala, Uganda Website: www.ec.or.ug

Date: 10<sup>th</sup> August 2018

## Press Release

## Repeat Elections for Local Council (Village) Chairperson, Thursday 16th August 2018

Following the hearing of complaints arising from the Local Council (Village) Elections conducted on Tuesday 10<sup>th</sup> July, 2018, the Electoral Commission has resolved to conduct fresh polling in the villages indicated below:

1.	Kampala Capital City		
	Village	Parish	City Division
a.	Luwum Street	Nakasero IV Parish	Central Division
b.	Nkrumah Village	Civic Centre Parish	Central Division
C.	Sendawula Zone	Lungujja Parish	Rubaga Division
d.	Lungujja Zone 8	Lungujja Parish	Rubaga Division
e.	Kawaala Central	Kasubi Parish	Rubaga Division
f.	Greenhill Zone	Kibuli Parish	Makindye Division
g.	Ntuuse	Nsambya Central	Makindye Division
h.	Nsambya Gogonya II	Nsambya Central	Makindye Division
i.	Kikaya A	Kikaya Parish	Kawempe Division
j.	Namere Zone	Kawempe II Parish	Kawempe Division
k.	Kiggundu Zone	Makerere III Parish	Kawempe Division
2.	Jinja District		
	Village	Parish	Sub County/Division
a.	Kitovu Village	Mafubira Parish	Mafubira Sub County
b.	Mafubira Zone B	Mafubira Parish	Mafubira Sub County
C.	Namulesa Village	Namulesa Parish	Mafubira Sub County
3.	Kiryandongo District		
	Village	Parish	Sub County/Division
a.	Bweyale Cell	Central Ward	Bweyale Town Council
4.	Wakiso District		
	Village	Parish/Ward	Sub County/Division
a.	Bulenga/Kikaya Village	Ssumbwe Parish	Wakiso Sub County
b.	Nsaggu Central Village	Nsaggu Ward	Kajjansi Town Council
C.	Nangabo Village	Nangabo Ward	Kasangati Town Council
d.	Kawuku-Kisubi	Kisubi Parish	Katabi Town Council

Polling for election of Village (LC I) Chairperson will be conducted on <u>Thursday 16<sup>th</sup> August</u> <u>2018</u>, in a public/open place within the village, and shall start at 7:00 am and end at 4:00pm.

## The candidates who were nominated in the exercise conducted on 4<sup>th</sup> and 5<sup>th</sup> July, 2018, remain eligible for purpose of this election.

The election of the Village (LC I) Chairperson shall be by the voters lining behind the nominated candidates or their representatives, or their portraits or symbols, in accordance with Section 111(2) of the Local Government Act CAP 243 (as amended).

enbegan)

Hajjat Aisha Lubega Basajjanaku Ag. Chairperson, Electoral Commission