#### THE REPUBLIC OF UGANDA

## THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

Telephone: +256-41-337500/337508-11 Fax: +256-31-262207/41-337595/6

E-mail: secretary@ec.or.ug

Ref: ADM72/01



Plot 55 Jinja Road

P. O. Box 22678 Kampala, Uganda

Website: www.ec.or.ug

Date: .29th. February .2016

### **Press Release**

# Polling Date for Local Government Councils (LC III) and Residual District Chairperson and Parliamentary Elections — Wednesday, 9<sup>th</sup> March 2016

The Electoral Commission informs candidates, voters and the general public that Wednesday 9<sup>th</sup> March 2016 has been appointed as polling date for elections for Chairpersons and Councillors for Sub County, Town and Municipal Division (LC III) Councils and residual Parliamentary Elections in constituencies where (Parliamentary) elections were suspended.

### 1. Polling for Local Government Councils (LC III)

The elections for Chairperson and Councillors for the Sub-county/Town/Municipal Division (LC III) Councils will be held on Wednesday 9<sup>th</sup> March 2016.

Polling shall take place at all polling stations within all the Sub-counties, Town Councils and Municipal Divisions in Uganda, starting at 7:00am and closing at 4:00pm.

During these elections, voters will cast ballots for:

- a. Sub-county/Town/Municipal Division Chairpersons;
- b. Sub-county/Town/Municipal Division Directly-elected Councillors; and,
- c. Sub-county/Town/Municipal Division Women Councillors.

Candidates and voters are reminded that the ballot papers for use during elections for the Chairpersons of Sub-County/Town/Municipal Division will bear the following features:

- a. The first column will have the full names of each candidate, in alphabetical order;
- b. The second column will have a colour photograph of each candidate;
- c. The third column will have the name of the party and symbol, or independent candidates' symbol;
- d. The fourth column will have space where the voter will tick or place a thumbprint as a mark of choice.

The ballot papers for councilors to the Sub-county/Town/Municipal Division will have the full names of the candidate, the symbol for the party or independent candidate and the name of party for party flag bearers but will not bear the photograph of the candidate.

## 2. Polling for Residual Parliamentary and Local Government Councils Elections

The Electoral Commission has appointed Wednesday 9<sup>th</sup> March 2016, as the date for elections for Parliamentary and Local Government Councils in the constituencies/districts below, where the polling process was suspended on 18<sup>th</sup> and 24<sup>th</sup> February 2016:

No	District	Constituency	Elective Position
1.	Dokolo	Dokolo South	Member of Parliament
2.	Kamwenge	Kibale County	Member of Parliament
3.	Kamwenge	Kitagwenda County	Member of Parliament
4.	Kisoro	Bufumbira East County	Member of Parliament
5.	Namutumba	Busiki County	Member of Parliament
6.	Sembabule	Mawogola Cty South	Member of Parliament
7.	Buyende	Buyende District	Woman Representative to Parliament
8.	Kween	Kween District	Woman Representative to Parliament
9.	Kyegegwa	Kyegegwa District	Woman Representative to Parliament
10.	Yumbe	Yumbe District	Woman Representative to Parliament
11.	Kyankwanzi	Kyankwanzi District	District Chairperson (LC V)

Voting shall be by universal adult suffrage, and shall take place at all polling stations in the above districts/constituencies, starting at 7:00am and closing at 4:00pm.

Thereafter, counting of votes and declaration of results shall take place.

Political parties and independent candidates are encouraged to deploy a maximum of two agents at each polling station in the districts/constituencies.

Eng. Dr. Badru M. Kiggundu

**Chairperson, Electoral Commission**