# THE REPUBLIC OF UGANDA THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

 Telephone: +256-41-337500/337508-11

 Fax:
 +256-31-262207/41-337595/6

 E-mail:
 secretary@ec.or.ug

Ref: Adm72/01



Plot 55 Jinja Road P. O. Box 22678 Kampala, Uganda Website: www.ec.or.ug

Date: .1.<sup>st</sup>. March 2016.....

**Press Release** 

## Elections for Councilors for Persons with Disabilities (PWDs), Older Persons and Youth to District Local Government Councils and Kampala Capital City Authority

The Electoral Commission has appointed Thursday 3<sup>rd</sup> March 2016, as the date for elections for Councilors for Persons with Disabilities (PWDs), Older Persons and Youths to District Local Government Councils and Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA).

### For each District Local Government Council/City Authority, there shall be:

- 1. Two (2) Youth Councillors, one of whom shall be a female, to represent the Youth in the District Local Government Council/Kampala Capital City Authority; and,
- 2. Two (2) PWDs Councilors, one of whom shall be a female, to represent the Persons with Disabilities in the District Local Government Council/Kampala Capital City Authority; and,
- 3. Two (2) Older Persons Councillors, one of whom shall be a female, to represent the Older Persons in the District Local Government Council/Kampala Capital City Authority.

#### Mode of election

Voting shall be by secret ballot using the Electoral College for each of the respective special interest groups above;

- 1. The Youth Councillors for the District/City shall be elected by an Electoral College composed of the following:
  - a. Members of District/Kampala Capital City Youth Executive Committee
  - b. Members of Sub County/Town/Municipal Division Youth Executive Committee;
  - c. Members of Parish/Ward Youth Executive Committee;

- d. One (1) Youth with Disabilities (PWD) of every Sub County/Town/Municipal Division or City Division;
- e. Two (2) Students delegates from each Sub County/Town/Municipal Division or City Division.
- The PWDs Councillors for the District/City shall be elected by an Electoral College composed of the members of the Sub County/Town/Municipal Division or City Division PWDs Executive Committees;
- 3. The Older Persons Councillors for the District/City shall be elected by an Electoral College composed of members of the Sub County/Town/Municipal Division or City Division Older Persons Executive Committees.

#### **Nominated Candidates**

Please note that candidates for these elections were nominated during the exercise of nomination of candidates for Local Government Councils Elections, held in November 2015.

#### Venue and Time for Polling

Members of the respective electoral colleges will assemble at the respective District/Kampala Capital City Electoral Commission offices to participate in the elections. No person shall be allowed to vote if she/he is not a member of the respective Electoral College.

Polling shall start at 7:00 a.m. in the morning and end at 4:00 p.m. in the evening.

Votes cast at every polling station shall be counted at the polling station immediately after the Presiding officer declares polling closed.

Each Candidate may appoint not more than two agents to oversee the conduct of polling and vote counting.

22

Eng. Dr. Badru M. Kiggundu Chairperson, Electoral Commission