## THE REPUBLIC OF UGANDA THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

 Telephone:
 +256-41-337500/337508-11

 Fax:
 +256-31-262207/41-337595/6

 E-mail:
 secretary@ec.or.ug

Ref: Adm72/01



Plot 55 Jinja Road P. O. Box 22678 Kampala, Uganda Website: www.ec.or.ug

Date: 25th January 2021

## **Press Release**

## Features on Ballot Papers for Sub County/Town/Municipal Division Elections, 2021

The Electoral Commission appointed <u>Wednesday 3<sup>rd</sup> February 2021</u> as the polling day for elections of Chairpersons and Councillors for Sub County/Town/Municipal Division.

Voting shall be by universal adult suffrage, and shall take place at all polling stations in all the Sub Counties, Town Councils and Municipal Divisions, across the country, beginning at 7:00am till 4:00pm.

Thereafter, counting of votes and declaration of results shall take place.

The Commission wishes to guide that the ballot paper for use during election of the Chairperson for Sub county/Town Council/Municipal Division will bear the following features:

- 1. The first column will have the full names of candidates, in alphabetical order;
- 2. The second column will have a <u>colour photograph</u> of the candidate;
- 3. The third column will have the name of <u>the party and symbol</u>, or independent candidates' symbol;
- 4. The fourth column will have space where the voter will <u>tick or place a thumbprint</u> <u>as a mark of choice</u>.

Voters are advised to note that the ballot paper for the Directly-elected Councillors and Women Councillors to the Sub county/Town Council/Municipal Division will have the full names of the candidate, the symbol for the political party or independent candidate and the name of the party for party flag bearers <u>but will not bear the photograph of the</u> <u>candidates</u>.

lubejau)

Hajjat Aisha Lubega Basajjanaku Deputy Chairperson/Electoral Commission