## THE REPUBLIC OF UGANDA THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

Telephone: +256-41-337500/337508-11 Fax: +256-31-262207/41-337595/6 E-mail: secretary@ec.or.ug

Ref: Adm72/01



Plot 55 Jinja Road P. O. Box 22678 Kampala, Uganda Website: www.ec.or.ug

Date: 9<sup>th</sup> July 2019

**Press Statement** 

## **Programme for Elections of Interim Chairpersons in the Seven Newly-created Districts**

The Electoral Commission informs the general public that the following seven (7) newlycreated districts came into effect on  $1^{st}$  July 2019:

- 1. Madi-Okollo District, which has been created out of Arua District;
- 2. Karenga District, which has been created out of Kaabong District;
- 3. Kalaki District, which has been created out of Kaberamaido District;
- 4. Kitagwenda District, which has been created out of Kamwenge District;
- 5. Kazo District, which has been created out of Kiruhura District;
- 6. Rwampara District, which has been created out of Mbarara District; and,
- 7. Obongi District, which has been created out of Moyo District.

Accordingly, the Electoral Commission has appointed Thursday, 25<sup>th</sup> July, 2019 as the polling day for <u>Elections of Interim District Chairperson</u> in the above seven newly-created districts.

Voting shall be by Electoral College and secret ballot and will be conducted at the headquarters of the respective new district, starting at 9:00am.

The Electoral College shall comprise District Directly Elected Councillors and District Women Councillors representing the electoral areas forming the new districts.

Please note that the elections of District Woman Representative to Parliament in the above newly-created districts will be conducted in due course.

fulubeyau,

Hajjat Aisha Lubega Basajjanaku Ag. Chairperson, Electoral Commission