THE REPUBLIC OF UGANDA THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

Telephone: +256-41-337500/337508-11 Fax: +256-31-262207/41-337595/6 E-mail: secretary@ec.or.ug

Ref: Adm72/01



Plot 55 Jinja Road P. O. Box 22678 Kampala, Uganda Website: www.ec.or.ug

Date: 23rd May 2017

Press Statement

By-Election Process for Tororo District Chairperson

The Electoral Commission rolled out the electoral programme for the conduct of the by-election of the District Chairperson, Tororo District Local Government on the 3rd May, 2017 with a Stakeholders' Meeting. During the meeting, the leadership of Tororo County requested the Chairperson of the Electoral Commission for a meeting in their area.

On 19th May, 2017, the Commission held a meeting with the leadership of Tororo County as per their invitation following the roll out of the by-election programme.

The purpose of the meeting was to update the leadership on the by-election programme and appeal to them to cooperate, maintain law and order during this process.

As the meeting progressed it became obvious that the Commission could not proceed with the meeting as tempers rose and demonstrations started.

The meeting was discontinued.

On 20th May, 2017 the Commission staff who were carrying out the training of the officials for display of the voters' register exercise in Mella Sub-county were attacked and Commission property damaged in the process rendering the Voters' Register Display exercise difficult to continue.

Since it is paramount for the Electoral Commission to conduct an election in a peaceful conducive atmosphere, the above mentioned violence incidents have made it difficult for the electoral process to continue.

Therefore, as provided under Section 12 (1) (e), (f) and Section 50 of the Electoral Commission Act (Cap 140) as amended, the Commission hereby temporarily puts on hold, the electoral process for the by-election of the District Chairperson Tororo District Local Government until such a time when the conditions are conducive for the electoral process to continue.

The Commission accordingly informs all the people of Tororo District, Political Parties and Organizations and the General Public that the electoral process in Tororo District for the by-election of the District Chairperson has been temporarily put on hold.

Hulubeyan

Hajjat Aisha Lubega Basajjanaku Ag. Chairperson, Electoral Commission