EC CONCLUDES NOMINATION OF CANDIDATES FOR BUKEDEA LOCAL GOVERNMENT COUNCILS BY-ELECTIONS

The Electoral Commission has declared twelve (12) candidates duly nominated to contest in Local Government Council by–elections in Bukedea District.

The nomination exercise commenced on Monday 5th June and closed on Tuesday 6th at the Office of the District Election Administrator, Bukedea, and was presided over by the District Returning Officer, Hajj Suleiman Kato.

Three (3) candidates, namely, Akol Mary (NRM), Lokwiisk Tychicus Ebukalin (Independent) and Oita Sam Odeke (FDC) were nominated to contest for the seat of District Chairperson, Bukedea District.

Epilo Moses (Independent), Kedi Johnson (Independent), Ojilong Richard Kabuya Sofi (Independent), Okia William (FDC) and Ongole Richard (NRM) were nominated to contest for the District Directly Elected Councillor Bukedea Sub County.

Kitaka Mary Gorret (NRM) was declared unopposed for the Female District Councillor representing workers.

Okusa Simon (NRM) was declared unopposed for the Sub County Directly Elected Councillor representing Kotiokot, Kabarwa.

Among Alice (NRM) was declared unopposed for the Sub County Woman Councillor representing Mukongoro, Aligoi.

Okia Joel (NRM) was declared unopposed for the Sub County Male Youth Councillor representing Kocheka

Campaign meetings will be held from 7th June to 12th June 2023 with polling scheduled for 14th June 2023.

Bukedea District LCV seat fell vacant on the 17th December 2022 following the death of the former District LCV Chairperson Mr. Moses Olemukan.