THE REPUBLIC OF UGANDA THE ELECTORAL COMMISSION

 Telephone:
 +256-41-337500/337508-11

 Fax:
 +256-31-262207/41-337595/6

 E-mail:
 secretary@ec.or.ug

Ref: Adm 72/01



Plot 55 Jinja Road P. O. Box 22678 Kampala, Uganda Website: www.ec.or.ug

Date: .29th June 2018

Press Release

Nomination of Candidates for LC I & LC II Chairpersons

Reference is made to our guidelines on elections for LC 1 and LC2 Chairpersons.

The Electoral Commission wishes to clarify that the right of Public Officers to contest in LC1 and LC2 elections without resigning their offices was removed by Section 1 of the Local Government (Amendments) Act (No.2) 2006, which deleted Section 116(6) (b) thereof.

Our electoral guidelines were derived from the Compendium of Electoral Laws as at 31st December 2015 compiled by the Uganda Law Reform Commission which, unfortunately, did not capture this amendment in the Local Government Act CAP 243.

In light of the above, all public servants who wish to contest for LC1 and LC2 Chairpersons are required to resign their offices before nominations.

Justice Byabakama Mugenyi Simon Chairperson, Electoral Commission