Statement on Final Preparations for By-election of District Woman MP for Iganga

In preparation for the by-elections, the Electoral Commission conducted the update of the National Voters’ Register for Iganga District, for a period from 7th - 11th August 2017 and thereafter, a display of the Register at all polling stations in the district for a period of ten (10) days, from Monday 21st to Wednesday 30th August 2017.

The Electoral Commission has completed cleaning the National Voters’ Register for Iganga District, which bears the names of all the 254,450 (two hundred fifty four thousand four hundred and fifty) registered voters, arranged alphabetically by surname, at each of the three hundred eighty two (382) polling stations in Iganga District.

The Commission has issued the Register to participating candidates to enable them (candidates), through their official agents, ensure that only eligible persons are allowed to vote during the by-election and only at the polling station where they are registered as voters.

Meanwhile the Commission has also issued temporary Voter Location Slips (VLS) to voters. Newly registered voters will conveniently locate their respective polling station on polling day by referring to their VLS.

This issuance exercise commenced on Monday 11th September and will be concluded today, Wednesday 13th September 2017, at issuing centers in each parish in Iganga District.

Campaigns commenced on Monday 21st August 2017 and were concluded on Tuesday 12th September 2017.

Polling shall take place on Thursday 14th September 2017.

Voting shall be by universal adult suffrage, and shall take place at all the three hundred eighty two (382) polling stations in the District, beginning at 7:00am and ending at 4:00pm.

Thereafter, counting of votes and declaration of results shall take place.

The Electoral Commission has gazetted Iganga District Council Hall as the venue for tallying and declaration of election results.

The Electoral Commission has established a Query/Complaints Desk at the Tally Centre, which will be at Iganga District Council Hall. 

The Complaints/Query Desk will have toll free lines to enable members of the public raise any issue related to the polling day activities for expeditious handling by the Commission:


Telephone Number
















MTN (Not Toll-free)

All the stakeholders are urged to make use of this facility on polling day from 7:00am to 4:00pm.

The Electoral Commission calls upon all stakeholders in Iganga District to participate in the above exercise in accordance with the Law and the polling guidelines.

Justice Byabakama Mugenyi Simon

Chairperson, Electoral Commission

adidas superstar damen glitzer silber

Wednesday, September 13, 2017