Electoral Commission Sets Dates for Rukungiri District Woman MP Polls

The Electoral Commission has released the electoral programme for by-election of District Woman Representative to Parliament for Rukungiri District.

The programme will commence with an update of the National Voters’ Register from 16th April to 20th April 2018, at update stations in each of the eighty seven (87) parishes and wards in Rukungiri District.

The Commission has appointed Friday 20th April 2018 as the cut-off date for registration of voters in the District. Registration and transfer of voters from one polling station to another within the District will not be conducted after this date.

The display of the National Voters’ Register will be conducted from 30th April to 9th May 2018, at all the two hundred and eighty (280) polling stations in Rukungiri District.

The nomination of candidates will be conducted for a period of two days, that is, Wednesday 2nd May and Thursday 3rd May 2018, at Rukungiri District Headquarters.

Campaign meetings will be held for a period of twenty six (26) days, that is, from 4th May to 29th May 2018.

Polling for Member of Parliament shall take place on Thursday 31st May 2018 at all polling stations in Rukungiri District, and (polling) shall start at 7:00am and close at 4:00pm.

The vacancy of the District Woman Representative to Parliament for Rukungiri District, occurred on 22nd March 2018, when the Court of Appeal nullified the results of the 2016 Parliamentary Elections.

5th April 2018


nike fashion

Thursday, April 5, 2018