Press Release

EC Sets Date for Fresh LC 1 Chairperson Polls

Following the hearing of complaints arising from the Local Council (Village) Elections conducted on Tuesday 10th July, 2018, the Electoral Commission has resolved to conduct fresh polling in the villages indicated in the attachment.

Polling for election of Village (LC I) Chairperson will be conducted on Monday 23rd July 2018, in a public/open place within the village, and shall start at 7:00 am and end at 4:00pm.

Friday, July 20, 2018

EC Sets New Date for Polls in 635 Villages

The Electoral Commission appointed 10th July 2018 as polling date for election of Village Local Councils in all the 60,800 villages in Uganda. The polling process commenced this morning and has been successfully concluded.  Preliminary reports from the districts indicate that in most areas, registered residents (voters) turned out in large numbers to elect their leaders at the village level.

The Electoral Commission congratulates all those Ugandans who turned up to exercise their right to vote for their leaders and those who have been elected.

Tuesday, July 10, 2018

EC Postpones LC I Elections in Ganda Village, Wakiso District

The Electoral Commission has postponed the elections of Village Local Council Chairperson in Ganda Village, Kyebando Parish In Wakiso Sub County, that had been scheduled for Tuesday, 10th July 2018. 

The postponement has been made following the unfortunate death of one of the nominated candidates for LC 1 Chairperson, the late Kizza David which occurred on 8th July 2018. 

A new date will be communicated in due cause; and all inconveniences caused to the concerned parties are regretted.


Monday, July 9, 2018

EC Revises Programme for Elections in New Municipalities

The Electoral Commission has revised the period for campaigns and polling dates for Parliamentary and Local Government Councils elections in new Municipalities, Town Councils and Sub Counties. 

Polling day for elections in new Municipalities for Member of Parliament, Municipal Directly-elected Councillors, Municipal Women Councillors and Municipal Chairpersons and Councillors have been changed from 19th July 2018 and will now be held on Friday 27th July 2018. 

Tuesday, July 3, 2018

EC Sets Date for By-election of MP for Arua Municipality

The Electoral Commission has released the electoral programme for by-election of Member of Parliament for Arua Municipality, Arua District.

The programme will commence with an update of the National Voters’ Register from 5th – 9th July 2018, at update stations in each of the six (6) parishes/wards in Arua Municipality.

The Commission has appointed Monday 9th July 2018 as the cut-off date for registration of voters in the Municipality.

Friday, June 29, 2018

Clarification on Requirement for Resignation Before Nominations for LC I Elections

Reference is made to our guidelines on elections for LC 1 and LC2 Chairpersons.

The Electoral Commission wishes to clarify that the right of Public Officers to contest in LC1 and LC2 elections without resigning their offices was removed by Section 1 of the Local Government (Amendments) Act (No.2) 2006, which deleted Section 116(6) (b) thereof.

Friday, June 29, 2018

EC Sets Dates for Updating Village Residents’ Registers

The Electoral Commission appointed Friday 22nd to Monday 25th June 2018, as the period during which willing village residents will register to participate in Administrative Unit (LC I) , and Women Councils and Committees Elections. During this period, eligible and willing residents shall turn up in person at the registration centre within the village of residence to register in order to participate in the elections set for 10th July 2018.

Tuesday, June 19, 2018

Adjusted Programme for Nomination of Candidates in Bugiri

The Electoral Commission informs political parties, aspiring independent candidates and their supporters, that the nomination of candidates for Parliamentary Elections will be conducted for two days, that is, Tuesday 5th June and Wednesday 6th June 2018, while nomination of candidates for Local Government Councils Elections will be conducted for a period of three days, that is from Tuesday 5th June to Thursday 7th June 2018.


Tuesday, June 5, 2018

EC sets dates for LC I Elections

The Electoral Commission has released the programme for resumption of Administrative Units (Village and Parish Level) and Women Councils and Committees (Village to National Level) Elections, 2018.

The programme will commence with an update of the Village Residents’ Register from 22nd to 25th June 2018, at registration centers in each of the 60,801 villages across Uganda.

Friday, May 25, 2018